Kearsney Abbey


"The whole of the Lower Road up to Kearsney station is within the Dover boundary, but Kearsney Abbey and Kearsney Manor are outside.  The Abbey is a charming residence, in extensive grounds, in which the two branches of the Dour unite, forming a lake, in which there are ornamental fountains.  Westward of the Abbey is Kearsney Court, the fine residence of Mr. E. P. Barlow, J.P., Managing Director of Messrs. Wiggins and Teape's paper mills.  Further westward is Bushy Ruff, and its picturesque lake frequented by water fowl, and Chilton Lake and water fall on the new building estate of Sir William Crundall, abutting on the Alkham Road, from whence there is a pleasant footpath at the back of the Abbey to the River Tram Terminus.

On the opposite side of the road from Kearsney Abbey, and adjoining the Railway Station, is Kearsney Manor.  This is the original Manor House, which, with the Manor lands, was held in the Norman times as part of the Barony of Saye, being a Knight's fee for the guarding of DOVER Castle.  After passing through many hands, at the beginning of the 19th century it was held by Mr. Thomas Biggs, a revenue officer, of Dover, from whom it was acquired by Mr. J. M. Fector, Banker, of Dover, who, leaving the old manor house intact, in 1822 built the Abbey as it now stands on part of the Manor grounds, using in its construction stones taken from the demolished walls of Dover.(J.B.J. 1907



  The billiard room, now used as a tea room, is the only remaining part of the house built here in 1820-22 by John Minet Fector, the Dover banker.  There was never an actual Abbey at Kearsney; the house and grounds were given the name Kearsney Abbey because of the mock-medieval appearance of the house and the use of reclaimed materials from the ancient town walls and demolished churches..

  The upper lake has an ornamental fountain and is kept for the swans and other water birds; the lower lake is used by radio-controlled boating enthusiasts to sail their boats.




  The river flows through these artificial "ruins" at the edge of the Abbey grounds, before flowing under the road.